SCCM Guru Webcast “Zombie Links” Survival Guide

2016-02-02 10.29.34_crop

The SCCM Guru webcast series sponsored by BDNA a few years ago was awesome!  I was slammed with projects at the time, but I caught as many as I could and hoarded as much of the content as I could collect at the time, and of course got my t-shirt!

Of course, I either lost the jump drive where I had the content stored, left it behind on an old work computer, or more likely deleted the smaller stuff along with the large media files thinking this stuff is too valuable for them to let it vanish into the ether.

Granted, being centered on SCCM 2007, some of the content is dated.  But there’s a ton of best practice stuff in there that is still relevant.  I went to back and review some of it for an upcoming project last week.  But alas, I could hardly find any of it… at first.  I kept digging and uncovered most.  The key was the first one.  The others reveal other patterns and point out other missing content.

Host Page:
http://myitforum.com/myitforumwp/events-1/sccm-guru-webcast-survival-guide/

Title/Description:
SCCM Guru webcast collateral (PowerPoint decks, Q&As, scripts, etc.)

 

Host Page:
http://myitforum.com/myitforumwp/community/groups/bdna/documents/

Title/Description:
Slide deck for Episode 3 – John Nelson

  • Missing Content:
    • Slide deck for Episode 3 – John Nelson
  • Good URL:
    • unable to locate

 

Host Page:
http://myitforum.com/myitforumwp/community/groups/bdna/documents/

Title/Description:
Slide deck for Episode 14 – Jeremy Young

  • Missing Content:
    • Slide deck for Episode 14 – Jeremy Young
  • Good URL:
    • unable to locate
  • Workaround:

 

Host Page:
various – see Comments

Title/Description
Jeremy Young’s blog on MyITForum

 

Host Page:
various bad links in blog posts, e.g.
http://myitforum.com/myitforumwp/2012/02/29/powershell-script-to-run-configmgr-task-sequence-on-demand/

Title/Description
monthly patch management task sequence

 

Title/Description
Download Link

 

 

There are obvious patterns that should help resolve other links.  Honestly, I started this post expecting that I would successfully use these pattern for some of the content downloads, but I’m having no joy there. This is just a post to document a few pieces I have found so far.  If there’s an ongoing need, maybe a wiki would be better.

But my core motivation is to politely nudge MyITForum to try to help out with this. I know they’ve had their hands full, but we still need a lot of this valuable, albeit aging, content.

Leave a Reply

